Roasted Goodness


roasted vegetable soup

OK, yes, I’m on a mini-roasting kick. I blame Jill. Well, not blame. Thank. Yes, that’s the word I’m looking for.

I took Ms. Murray’s suggestion of roasting a bunch of veg in a cast iron skillet, then adding liquid and spices, then blending. Et voilà. It’s that simple.

For this soup, I used:

  • 1 leek, white part only, cleaned and cut into 1″ pieces, then halved
  • ½ red pepper, cut into large pieces
  • 8 cremini mushrooms, halved
  • 6 new potatoes, halved
  • 5 shallots, halved
  • 3 cloves garlic, smashed

And, much like last night, I roasted the veg at 350°F, this time  for 80 minutes, stirring occasionally. Before transferring the veg to a blender, I pulled the skin off the peppers, but this isn’t mandatory.

To start, I poured in enough vegetable stock to cover the veg. I pulsed, then blended, gradually adding more stock until I got the desired consistency. Then I poured the soup into a saucepan to reheat. This made about 5 cups of soup.

I love the richness and depth of flavour that vegetables take on when they’ve been roasted, which absolutely stands up in this preparation. I had it with a really nice piece of toasted and buttered black olive ciabatta. Delish.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to Stumbleupon

2 Comments

  1. bevw
    Posted February 11, 2009 at 1:44 am | Permalink

    Thanks! That’s a great tip. Also, I hate barley, but maybe some other grain…

  2. Posted February 11, 2009 at 12:22 am | Permalink

    Awesome! I bet pearl barley would be tasty in place of the potato too.

    Did I mention I use a hand blender? Its the ultimate in lazy. I make the whole dish in one pot. (cast iron goes from the oven to the stove…)

    Now, since you’re onto the roasting, you should know there is this other thing I do:

    I freeze all the odds and ends of vegetables I cook with until I have a bunch, and then I use them to make veggie stock. Carrot butts, onion skins, the water from rehydrating sundried tomatoes, the woody part of leeks or lemongrass, basil stems, broccoli stems, that parsley that dried out before I could eat it, hairy bits of sweet potato, etc… everything. Just put it all in a freezer bag or tupperware, then when you or it is ready, put it in a big pot, cover with water, add a bay leaf, some salt, peppercorns, bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer for half an hour, then turn it off and let it cool down naturally. Strain into jars, and keep in freezer. Voila! Its really easy, basically free, tastes good, keeps nutrients from ending up in the garbage, and you can totally control the salt. Store bought stock is all sodium, which bugs me.


