More Mustard


Today’s lunch was pork chop with a mustard cream sauce with a side of parmesan broccoli. I have to say, I was quite pleased with the way this dish turned out. The marinade gave the meat a lovely balance of sweet and heat, and scoring the meat really let it infuse all the way through the chop. Delish.

So, I scored and marinated the 3 pork chops for a day in a mix of ½ C apple juice, 2 Tbsp whole grain mustard, and 1 Tbsp honey.  Then I grilled them in the Forman. Simple. For the sauce, I just mixed 1½ Tbsp whole grain mustard, about ¼ C of 5% cream, salt and pepper to taste, and heated it through in a small saucepan.

For the side, I peeled 2 broccoli stalks and cut them into florets. I also cut the stalks into small cubes – about 1/2 inch pieces. They were boiled for about 3 minutes, until tender, and dressed with a little butter, lemon juice and freshly grated parmesan cheese.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to Stumbleupon

2 Comments

  1. Posted March 18, 2009 at 7:00 am | Permalink

    Mmm, mustard. Are you already aware that the President’s Choice dijon is not only the most affordable option in its class, but is also the best, most authentic dijon on the shelf?

    • bevw
      Posted March 18, 2009 at 9:34 am | Permalink

      Huh. I was not aware of it’s authenticity! But good to know, as that’s what I used. 🙂


