All About Cheese


cheesy french toast

My 40th birthday was this week and this morning, my pals took me out to brunch at School to celebrate. Word was, the super cheesy french toast was a menu highlight, so I went with that. It came with double smoked bacon and salad greens, and was indeed, super cheesy.

I did have to do some deconstruction, as I’m not a fan of maple syrup on my bacon. But once I removed the bacon, I was surprised at how well the rich and savoury cheese toast went with the syrup. I can see why it’s popular. The bacon was nice, though uninspired.

I think it’s fair to note that I’ve heard very mixed reviews about School, and today was no exception. One friend’s eggs benedict were cold; another’s steak, requested to be the rare side of medium rare, came pretty much well done; a third made the kind of face reserved for the smell of durian when she tried the maple cranberry sausage. So, although I did enjoy my dish, I don’t think I’m in any rush to return.

Bookmark All About Cheese

3 Comments

  1. Posted September 13, 2010 at 12:42 am | Permalink

    happy birthday my friend!!!

  2. Bruce Wooding
    Posted September 12, 2010 at 10:59 pm | Permalink

    Bev,

    When my daughter turns 40, I am scared as to what’s next for me.

    Nice to see how much fun you had with your friends. Obviously, you had no problems getting home

    Next big celebration is 50, I guess. Enjoy every day, every year, but don’t abuse it. It will catch up with you.

    Love
    Dad

  3. Posted September 12, 2010 at 10:27 pm | Permalink

    Happy birthday, Bev! I turned 40 this year too – we went to Duffs…… Normally it would be a trip to Barberians, but we were too skint. 40 is great – enjoy!


One Trackback

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Bev Wooding, Bev Wooding. Bev Wooding said: [NEW POST] All About Cheese: My birthday brunch at School http://wp.me/ppyIm-mz […]

